jump to navigation

What A Week It’s Been Part 2 November 9, 2006

Posted by Jay Medina in Reflections.
trackback

Being a Sergeant in the Army was the toughest job I’ll ever love, only next to being a Dad. I loved helping Soldiers reach their goals, but also being there to support them and to call them out when they needed it. It was very rewarding in it’s own right. I loved being exhausted at the end of a very long day, knowing I did all I could that day to help the Soldiers below me and the Officers above me.

To me, this is the next best thing to being a Sergeant in the Army, because now there’s no pushups! Instead, I rely on my can-do attitude to get things done. I rely on my quick thinking and resourcefulness to get past obstacles. And, just like I did with my Soldiers, I do with my clients… I tell them what they need to hear, not always what they want to hear. Reason is, I care about them too much to lie to them and to sell them short on the truth.

All of this “deciding” that I was doing at the end of some very, very long days led me to a very profound decision. I wanted to help others, and I wanted to do it in such a way that I would be able to continually be able to deliver a high level of service to my clients, while still having a life and time with my family, while still pursuing education and mastery of my chosen field.

After making this decision, I shared it with others, and I was told that I would go far with that kind of mindset. I was told that I had the skills, the ability, and even the personality to do this. But I could not have done this alone. I had the support of friends, family, and even my Lord. Because all of the above helped me get re-started in this field upon my return. All of the above gave me the encouragement, and I do believe that the Lord put in my hands the means to accomplish all of the above by making me aware of how to actually do it:

Grow your business by being so helpful and driven to be of service to your clients that they will refer people they know to your business.
More in Part 3…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

