jump to navigation

Bono Speaks About Injustice November 20, 2006

Posted by Jay Medina in Inspirations, Personal Stuff, Reflections.
trackback

I remember when I was 13 years old, and I was in junior high; it was 1982.  As I was getting ready for school one morning, I heard a song on the radio, and it blew me away.  As usual, the DJ didn’t back-announce the song, so I had to wait patiently until they played it again, so I could learn the name of the song. 

The name of the song was “New Years’ Day” by U2.  I hadn’t heard the song before, and I hadn’t heard of the band up to that time.  Then, that same week, on one of my favorite video shows, they played the video to “Gloria” by U2.  Was this the same band?  Well, they looked like high school aged rockers… where were they from?

As I began to reseach U2, their story became more interesting.  By the time I reached my senior year in high school, U2 was my favorite all time band for numerous reasons.  First, they were using music to make a statement, a statement of change, not one of violence.  Second, they were buddies, and they never argued, they always showed a united front.  Third, they knew they wanted to be an inspiration to others, so they set out to make a positive example for youth everywhere.

During my senior year in 1987, they were on the Joshua Tree tour in Los Angeles, where I lived, and I got to see them live.  For me, that was an oustanding achievement… first to be able to afford the tickets, second to see my favorite band LIVE!

Fast forward to today.  I am now 37 years old, and U2 has had many musical eras, ups and downs in the media, but something miraculous has happened.  Bono made a decision about 20 years ago to use his fame for helping others instead of only helping himself.  He has set about, and in my opinion, succeeded in changing the world’s perception of “rock-star fame” and aligned it with using his celebre’ to effect change in the world.

Bono has spoken at the UN, he has given talks around the world, he has met with world leaders both political and religious, and he has been tireless in his efforts to educate the world on the tragedies in Africa and what we can each do to help make positive change in the world.  Here is a video of a talk he gave in 2005.  He makes a profound statement.  He says, that he alone cannot change the world, and you or I alone can’t change anything. But by working together, we can change the world.

Last week, I set up an area where you can register your favorite charity.  This is a means to get the word out about the different causes and organizations that are there to help others in time of need.  Please visit my Charity Registry, and educate us on your most passionate cause. By taking a few minutes to let us know your cause exists, you can change the world.

Thank you for reading, and for doing something positive today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

