jump to navigation

A Huge Compliment November 30, 2006

Posted by Jay Medina in Reflections.
trackback

It’s always a great feeling when you get a sign or a signal or some sort of validation that tells you that you’re doing something right.  Do you know that feeling?  When you give it your all, and then you get that wonderful feedback or pat on the back, or award?

Well, this week I recieved a huge compliment.  A client of mine that I helped buy a home a year and a half ago called me yesterday.  Most of all, it was great to hear from her.  I’d been sending little notes and cards, because I really love to stay in touch with all my clients.  Not just for business, but because when I work with my clients, I like to feel that we really get to know one another and it’s great to keep that relationship alive even after the transaction.

So Laurie calls me and shares with me all the things she did to get my number.  As I had switched from being an employee of mortgage bank to an independent mortgage consultant, she didn’t know how to reach me.  I was very impressed to find that she went through all my correspondence with her, until she finally Googled me in the Internet.

I must admit, I was a bit embarrassed that someone had to go through such lengths to reach me.  Truth be known, I haven’t been accused of being hard to find or reach before.  In any case, she found me, and it was wonderful to hear from her again.

To me, being a consultant is more than just “doing a deal”.  The clients I am able to help are clients for life. I wish to be their consultant for life; even to be considered The Family Consultant and Friend. This is why I do what I do and why I love it so much.

I missed Laurie, and she even told me that I spoiled her so much that another mortgage company full of Salespeople just weren’t leaving her very satisfied.  That’s a great feeling to know that my deliberate spoiling of my clients gives them the feeling of satisfaction they deserve. It’s great to be in touch with her again. 

Have you had a huge compliment like that lately? Write me or comment on this blog and let me know what your huge compliment was.

Thank you for reading and for doing something positive today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

